Print Friendly and PDF

Description of Roles

When you add a new user, you select the user’s role within the system.  Each role has varying amount of access to the CMS system.  The administrator can either keep the user’s default permissions that are granted as a result of their role, or add additional permissions to any role.

There are four different roles for users.  In order from most access to least access, these roles include:  Web Administrator, Content Publisher, Content Editor, and Staff Member.   

It is possible to grant extra permissions to any role in order to grant that user additional rights.  Permission rights are described in the following section.

Web Administrator

Web Administrators have full access to every aspect of the system.  They have the ability to add, edit, and delete all users on the CMS software system.  They have rights to change content of to all pages of the website and are able to publish those changes to the public.  They can delete images and files, as well as the ability to add, edit and delete the categories under which these images and files are saved. They have the right to add, delete, and edit all calendars.  They can add, edit and delete events from all calendars.  They can also perform any change that may be possible in the modules that are installed with your version of the CMS.

Content Publisher

Content Publishers have the ability to publish (to the public) changes that are made to web pages to which they have permission.  Content Publishers receive the permission “Manage Assigned Pages” by default, which allows them—on the pages for which they have been granted permission—to add and delete pages, move pages, and hide and unhide (“Show”) pages.  A content publisher must be granted permission to either all or specific pages before they will be able to publish.

Content Editor

Content Editors can edit the content of their assigned pages.  They rely on Content Publishers to publish their work so that the public can see their changes.  A Content editor will be unable to edit any pages until they are granted permission to specific pages.

Staff Member

Staff members do not by default have any of the rights listed above.  A Staff Member role is used so that the person appears in the staff directory.  They are also able to log into the system in order to manage their personal profile and contact information.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk